Spring arrives to the balcony

The spring is here. The sun has brought life to the balcony again after dark and cold winter. Golden daffodils reflect the color of the sun bringing sunshine otherwise pretty colorless world. As William Wordsworth writes:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

Pansies are delicate survivors of cold spell in spring. Pansies are also my favorites because those bring joy for many months to come. I have a habit of buying first pansies of the spring from Helsinki garden expo. I did it this year too.

A year ago I bought two Geranium pratenses (Double Jewel) from Viherpeukalot. The flowers were not as spectacular in a pot as in the net. Now I hope that this year the plants will be stronger.

Blue Siberian squill (Scilla siberica) is a thankful plant that spreads soon with its bulbs and seeds. The odor is pleasant and it is one of the first blooming flowers after the snow has smelt with Armenian grape hyacinth (Muscari armeniacum).

Last year I planted the seeds of carnation (Dianthus barbatus) but it is biennial so it blooms no sooner than this year. I am excited to see the flowers because the seeds I bought were a color mix. The result will be a surprise.

Clematis Alpina grows in the same large pot. The seedling of it I got from my mum who grew it from a stick. It has not bloomed either in my balcony yet but perhaps all the nursing will be rewarded with a first flower this year. The color mix will be nice: carnations in the shades of red and white combined with the blueish lilac of the clematis.

The plants survived from the winter nicely and as incredible as it sounds all the photos in this posts are taken just a few weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

